Ted Hughes: The Hawk in the Rain book cover

Ted Hughes: The Hawk in the Rain book cover early paperback

Ted Hughes: The Hawk in the Rain book cover

The Hawk in the Rain

Author: Hughes, Ted

Published by Faber & Faber, 1957
US ed.: Harper & Brothers, 1957

This is Ted Hughes's first collection of poems including such classics as "The Thought-Fox", "The Hawk in the Rain", "The Jaguar" and "Wind". Reading this book side by side with later collections makes apparent that this book presents a very young Hughes.


  • The Hawk in the Rain
  • The Jaguar
  • Macaw and Little Miss
  • The Thought-Fox
  • The Horses
  • Famous Poet
  • Song
  • Parlour-Piece
  • Secretary
  • Soliloquy of a Misanthrope
  • The Dove-Breeder
  • Billet-Doux
  • A Modest Proposal
  • Incompatibilities
  • September
  • Fallgrief's Girl-Friends
  • Two Phases
  • The Decay of Vanity
  • Fair Choice
  • The Conversion of the Reverend Skinner
  • Complaint
  • Phaetons
  • Egg-Head
  • The Man Seeking Experience Enquire His Way of a Drop of Water
  • Meeting
  • Wind
  • October Dawn
  • Roarers in a Ring
  • Vampire
  • Childbirth
  • The Hag
  • Law in the Country of the Cats
  • Invitation to the Dance
  • The Casualty
  • Bayonet Charge
  • Griefs for Dead Soldiers
  • Six Young Men
  • Two Wise Generals
  • The Ancient Heroes and the Bomber Pilot
  • The Martyrdom of Bishop Farrar